There are four different levels of the SLCF:
Foundation, Universal, Enhanced and Specialist.


Universal level

Outlines the basic skills and knowledge that everyone working with children and young people should have around SLC and SLCN.


Start at this level if you:

• Already meet the Foundation level competencies
• Work directly with children and young people
• Need a general awareness of typical SLC development for your role
• Would benefit from an awareness of how to identify features of SLCN


The Universal level also has a bank of activities to support your learning or check how much you know about a particular aspect of SLC development and SLCN. These activities are available on the ‘Activities’ page and you can also access activities for specific competencies whilst completing the Universal level self-evaluation.